Its a mad world!

Do these complement each other I wonder?

I had a bit of a mad moment this weekend and got sucked into the world of retail pricing and on-line food ordering.

When I was a boy we knew the price of grocery items and they often had them printed on any packaging so they would generally be same from shop to shop and day to day.

I'll make clear from the start that this is not the way I normally shop ......

I started out with an offer of 20% off an order valued at £50 or more but with a maximum £12 discount so beyond £60 no further discount. The time I chose for delivery had a charge of £4.99 for picking, packing delivery but £2.99 if the order is over £75 in value - are you managing to keep up ?

The next thing I found was that many of the things I wanted were also discounted e.g. Tinned soup 57 pence instead of £1.15. Pizza Express Pizza for £2.25 instead of £4.50 etc etc.
BUT the highlight was a Dark choc Terry's Orange for £1.37 was £2.75 apparently ! and the Cheesecake £1.99 instead of the usual £3.99

in end I paid £68 for a theoretical cost of goods and service(the £2.99) of £105

.... of course I managed to spend enough to get every discount I could I had ben trapped.

The delivery arrived on the dot at Noon and I began to wonder about what I had done and what a mad mad world this is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.