But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Borders Railway.

On my way to a beekeeping meeting I stopped for a quick blip at a bridge over the new Borders Railway. The wall over which the picture was taken is something more than six foot high (presumably to stop small boys throwing things at trains) so I couldn't see what I was in the photo until after the deed was done. Considering that, I'm quite pleased.
This was a joint use path (cyclist and dog walkers) but was closed in July 2012 much to the consternation of its user-base. Since then progress has been slow but is now due to be completed this summer, it is claimed that the service will include ample facilities for cycle transport to The Borders but I couldn't say whether or not that will extend to tricycles and tandems. Some years ago there was a plan to upgrade the path so that one could cycle, or even walk, the full distance and, bearing in mind the amount of traffic the path had at that time, I can't help feeling that this option would have resulted in a greater usage than that taken.

Please note that, apart from the guy in the middle of the track messing about with his phone, the workmen are all sensibly huddled under the bridge to shelter from the rain while having a quick cough and a drag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.