Richard and his Ferguson tractor

My lazy start to Saturday was ended when Richard called out of the blue as I was eating my cereal. He invited me to come over to Cranham, a couple of miles the other side of Bisley, to see their new house. They have moved there from an old vicarage nestling on the eastern side of the Severn Vale into a rented cottage in the village, while their brand new home is being built on the edge of the massive ancient woodland they have recently bought.

I haven't seen Richard for sometime, so I wanted to catch up with him anyway and to meet his wife C.. From the main entrance to the site they have made a new driveway, which skirts the edge of a huge purpose-built pond that lies in front of the house. The very modern long, low building is faced with beautiful Cotswold stone from a quarry near Tetbury. Richard finally got his old and well loved Ferguson tractor going with the help of Jim, the local woodsman and he drove down the drive to the front of the house, as you can see here. He needs it to cut the grass in the fields behind the house. He is a very keen fisherman, of the salmon variety if possible, and has plans to stock the pond with fish. I don't think he intends to fish here however.

Entering the front door leads you into a huge open plan living area that looks south over the gently sloping valley down towards Cranham village. The roof is supported by a series of oak pillars, joined together with wooden pegs and no nails, and everywhere there are large glass windows and walls.

I shared a flat with Richard way back in the late 1970s, so it is really good to know that they are relatively near neighbours. He has said I can come back whenever I want to explore their amazing beech woodlands, and take pictures. I might also try to visit when the builders are working finishing the house, as I think their could be some really interesting interior shots. They hope to be living there by July.

We all then went by car the few miles down the valley to the village of Slad, to imbibe at the well known Woolpack Inn. In the pub, which was Laurie Lee's local, it was very busy as usual, with a typical Saturday lunchtime array of local drinkers and some hikers, squeezed into the small snugs, and a good time was had.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.