Anniverary

39 years ago this morning...I gathered my friends together for a game of softball. I wanted to play...just in case it was the last game I ever played. (It wasn't.) You see...I was getting married at 6 p.m. that night. Ball-in-chain, honey-do lists, and so on.

I wanted to get a few shots of couples in nature. The geese were the only ones who would co-operate. The couple with all the babies look like they have their wings full, and in the picture with just 2 geese...the guy looks like a horn-dog. (No comment on that.)

There were no softball injuries that day, and 6 o'clock came quickly. The wedding picture is of Lisa and I with our parents. What was I thinking with the hair? (Looks like Shaggy from Scooby-do.) What was I thinking with the tuxedo? (Somewhere Up North...a grandma is missing her curtains.) Lisa and the 2 moms look good. Her dad is fine, but how about my dad? He married us as the minister. Did a great job, but with the mustache and the sideburns...looks like one of Tony Sopranos henchmen. FA-GET-ABOUT-IT!

We didn't have music, and we didn't have a bar...so people pretty much ate and left. We thought it would be a long night, so we planned to stay in Ann Arbor, Mi., about an hour away. THE STUPID ELKS WERE IN TOWN, AND EVERY ROOM WAS TAKEN! (I guess I wasn't the only horny guy in town!) We ended up driving to Bowling Green, Ohio. I can still picture her new yellow nightgown. Hubba-Hubba!

She is a wonderful person. Kind, loving, compassionate, thoughtful, and still cute. The time has gone by quickly, and that decision I made 39 years ago is still the best one I've ever made.

I wish I could break into song here. From Broadway...Michael Ball singing..."Love...love changes everything....(Guess I'll just have to imagine it!)

Happy Anniversary to my original "Sunshine." ( This saves me from spending the 99 cents for a Hallmark card.) Actually...next month I'm going to whisk her away for a couple of nights. (Maybe she'll pack the yellow nightgown!)

DON'T CLICK INTO LARGE! Embarrassing to see the long-haired hippie freak.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.