Looking Forward...

By Fiono

Findlay Church Carol Service

To add to the “it’s as if I’ve never been away” feeling I had a lovely day back with my Glasgow church family. The children’s nativity in the morning was adorable, as always; catching up with friends was great and the carol service in the evening was just gorgeous. It was nice to not be in the choir for once. Usually I’m a Scrooge by this time of year having rehearsed Christmas music since July (seriously, that was when I needed to start prepping last year) and have lost all feeling of wonder at the season after several carol services and Christmas concerts. I was feeling particularly Christmassy today J



Day 21: As I mentioned above I seem to be preparing for Christmas earlier and earlier each year, meaning by the time everyone else is getting ready I am overwhelmed with rehearsals, or just feeling numb during the great carols I’m singing. This year I’ve been so grateful being able to just celebrate Christ’s coming which is what it’s all about. It often gets lost amongst photocopying carol music and taking or attending rehearsals. I read a great article written by Keith Getty (one of my hymn writing heroes) about how musicians can overcome the Christmas music lethargy. I hope to put it into practise next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.