Looking Forward...

By Fiono

Wicked @ the Edinburgh Playhouse

Today was a rollercoaster day of emotions. Going from the pure joy of having my first cooked breakfast in a long time while catching up with friends to the horror of hearing the news of the bus lorry crash in George Square not long after we had left a restaurant nearby. How awful it must be for those who have lost family members today, so close to Christmas. The centre of town was so busy on this last Monday before Christmas day. It really could have been anyone.

My friend Ellyn and I didn’t go to see the events unfold as we got our train to Edinburgh but we did see lots of onlookers. I was reminded of the similar sombre scenes after the Clutha helicopter crash last year.

Our trip to Wicked the musical helped us take our mind off the awful events. It tells the story of what happened in Oz before Dorothy arrived, based on the novel by Gregory Maguire, and has been one of my favourite shows for several years. Tonight was the fifth time I have seen it but it was just as exciting as the first time – particularly because I was seeing with my friends Adam and Ellyn who had never seen it before.  I laughed, I cried (on more than one occasion), and got awfully excited meeting one of leads at stage door afterwards.


Day 22: I love to sing the songs from Wicked. I love to sing Christmas carols more. They tell of the great rescue mission of God coming to earth to save us and so many other truths.  O Little Town of Bethlehem is my favourite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.