Icy Roads

There is not much snow down at this level but its constantly cold and there is this cycle of melt, freeze, melt, freeze happening which means the roads are atrocious. The main roads, as in this picture, are kept clear but off onto a side road as I do when I take Yan  out then there is only one way to drive - keep going and hope you don't meet anyone as pulling off onto the verge means you generally get stuck or slide into a ditch. Its nice to be out in this weather (in some ways) but the older I get the more vulnerable I feel. Lets face it I am not as confident or as healthy or as fit as twenty years ago. Perhaps I should just sit in front of the fire as this afternoon and eat buns and drink tea. We already have had our little adventure today involving tracks on the road for one vehicle and about eight bearing down on me full of local trail hounds and their handlers whom we met again later in the wood (another adventure as Yan doesn't get on with other dogs). Try pretending you are not there when there are forty trailhounds flying past and one tremendously strong GSD determined to have her say. On refection - buns and tea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.