See it, Snap it, Share it

By pplnani

A Chilly Snooze

When I'd had enough of sorting through photos and mounting some to make them look a bit bigger I took myself off to walk round the country park. As you can see it was extremely chilly out there and the small lake was frozen over, much to the displeasure of this pair of swans. They stood in a freezing cold puddle on top of the frozen water, preening themselves and occasionally pecking at the ice, in the end they just decided to have a snooze.
I was happily snapping away at the frozen lake when I was disturbed by a man in camouflage gear, with his very large appendage in hand - don't worry ladies it was nothing more threatening than a HUGE 500mm plus long lens (also in camouflage gear) but it made me feel quite inadequate ;-/  I have to admit to a tinge of lens envy even though I wouldn't want to have to lug one around. He took one look at the swans and complained loudly to his very bored looking lady companion that they were 'TOO FAR AWAY and I WANT A BETTER REFLECTION THAN THAT' - Well, I have to admit I had a bit of a snigger to myself, all that expensive gear and still can't get close enough!!! This is what I got with my modest zoom lens and It's quite good enough for my needs, so all traces of envy disappeared and I continued my walk........in the opposite direction ;-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.