Gratitude

Kathy, my Pilates teacher told me about a lady who teaches fitness classes. She is a relative newcomer to the profession, having taught for about fifteen years. She is 104 years old and attributes her good health and longevity to one thing…gratitude. I think she is my role model. I can't think of a better way to age gracefully.

When you practice gratefulness, there is a sense of respect toward others.
--Dalai Lama

As a child, I wished I was more grown up, as an adolescent I was too busy with hormones to worry about age, while in middle age I began to wish I had a few more of those hormones. As I grew older I am surrounded by the cult of youth, and sometimes feel invisible. it is easy to forget that I am rich in experiences, memories and in wisdom. I visit friends in the hospital and go to more funerals than weddings, and it is easy to feel guilty instead of grateful.

Wear gratitude like a cloak and it will feed every corner of your life.
--Rumi

I think gratitude can help to focus on the things that matter, to feel richer with less, and to appreciate what I have, who  I know and where I have been. Without gratitude there can be no joy.

As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.
--John F. Kennedy


Thank you fellow blippers for your comments, your stars, your hearts and especially your attention. I am truly grateful to all of you

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.