Graduation

5years 94days 

Katie has been really looking forward today. I have been a little ambivalent, beyond a bonus day with my girl. She proved to be right. It has been a wonderful day. Today, I finally had my graduation ceremony from university. It's been a slog, but I reached the end (for now, until I do a masters or such!) and we had a great day to mark that. 

This morning I got up and made Katie a dress. She adores it and looks adorable. Granny and Grandad arrived and we headed to Hull. I got robed up and Katie came to help. The robers found a baby mortar board for her, though it was Mama's she wanted. We had photos and she charmed the photographer of course. She also charmed the many Chinese families that were there (my course is 90% Chinese students). They all wanted her picture! We did some of our own photos in the beautiful Guild Hall before we went to get a bite of lunch. I then had to say goodbye and go the way of the students. I came into City Hall to see her grinning, two rows from the front. She was so incredibly good during the ceremony and did me a beautiful card and some lovely drawings. She waved at me before I went up. As I was queuing, she was stood up with a huge grin on her face and gave me a big hug after. 

We outside for the "hat toss" and she stood herself right at the front, with her little camera. She was beaming. She wanted to carry my mortar board back to the robers afterwards. She has been so incredibly good today and I am extremely proud of her. Its been a day with lots of sense of occasion, which she revels in, but it could have been a tough day for a wee 5year old. Instead, she took it all in her stride and totally did me proud. 

We ended the day with a very lovely, relaxed meal at my sister's. I am so glad we made the effort to do the day, it's been very fabulous. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.