Scenes from everyday life

By jcdodds

Blackfriars - a lucky break

I've blipped this wall at Blackfriars Station a few times.  It was originally created in 1886 to showcase the range of destinations the station served.

I had a stroke of good fortune this morning.  The line I use to get work has been crippled by a broken water main flooding the tunnel that runs through central London between Blackfriars and St Pancras.  Trains were running an emergency timetable but even that was struggling.

As I arrived at my station, more in hope than expectation, an almost empty train pulled in.  I leapt on it and got to central London with only a  minor delay.  I learnt later that it was the only train that had run on that line between 6.30 and 10 am.  Lucky me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.