Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

In the Kitchen

A friend and I had intended to go for a walk today but this morning it was wet and windy and now it is snowing (wetly) and even windier so we've decided it wouldn't be pleasant to be out.

Here's a bit of my kitchen. Above the mantelpiece are two paintings I bought at the Pittenweem art week done by an artist from Elie. They were done to illustrate a calendar of Scottish recipes. On the shelf are a coffee grinder from Spain, my Great-aunt's biscuit barrel I longed to play with when wee, a Clarice Cliff style teapot, jug and bowl given by #3 daughter, another set my mother-in-law got in a junk shop, a stone chicken from my late sister-in-law, a painting on board from Zanzibar, a candle holder given by S and M, an old local bottle given as a farewell gift when we moved from here 30 years ago, and the framed autograph of Alex Ferguson, got by #2 daughter when her London job involved wining and dining celebs. (She didn't make a habit of such behaviour - she did it because I had Cantona in my fantasy football team at the time, and he played for ManU, and AF was a manager I admired). Her job now is much less glam, but far more satisfying.

Oh also up there, quite a bit of dust.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.