Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A grand day

Archie had a lie in this morning, so we all did - which made it a bit of a rush job to get walkies and breakfast in before the vet visit at 10:20.

Conjunctivitis was the declared cause, and that can spread easily to the other eye. Nothing too serious, thank goodness. However, both eyes seem a lot better today. More of the drops. Also more of the pink stuff for his paws, which he still tends to chew on of an evening. I might give them a good trim when he's asleep. But we always wash and dry his feet after a muddy walk.

It was such a lovely day we met up with our ex-neighbour and wee R and went for a walk round the Meadows. And round again. Archie had a great time, occasionally running off to meet another dog, but mainly galloping along beside us with a variety of sticks, though he won't retrieve them and have a proper game like other dogs.

Wee R has grown a lot since we last saw him. Very alert and cute and cuddly. Archie seemed quite interested in him. Perhaps they'll grow up to be friends...

Heard accordion music. Adamo. I popped over to him and asked him if he'd received the photos I sent. No. Aha! That explains his silence. He has to go to an Internet cafe to check his mail, so I assured him I'd send them again this afternoon to his second address.

We went to Summerhall Cafe, which is dog and pram friendly. In fact, they have opened up into the next room, so there's plenty of space. Meals look good too. Scone was good! No muzak!! And it was full. Lots of babies and toddlers but only one dog. Archie was so good, with toddlers passing quite near and not a peep from him. There were a few yelps of delight/relief when we finally got up to leave after an hour...

Another big walk home. What a glorious winter day. Deep blue sky. No wind. Blinding sunshine. I love this weather!

Archie and I had an hour on the sofa reading/snoozing. I do have Wolf Hall on my Kindle, but judging by the TV series, I don't think I could be bothered with it - though I don't mind gazing at the TV, admiring the sets and costumes, while happily letting the actual 'plot' remain a blur...

My latest book is 'The Accidental Tourist' by Anne Tyler I have high hopes of this one and it's started off well. I read an article about her the Sunday papers and thought I'd give her a whirl.

JR is off into town on an expedition. Just looking.

Fire on. Wine opened. Clean wee sleepy dog on my lap (who will go crazy when he hears the gate being opened). LC on the Bose. Deep blue sky outside. Perfect end to a very pleasant day.

PS Just had an email from Adamo - he got the photos.

PPS The Good Wife is back! Yipee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.