Simply Me

By Suze981

A new cat in town

Wesley isn't too sure about the new cat in town.

Meet my new maneki-neko. Let's call him Neko for short. He's a cheap plastic version of the Japanese talisman thought to bring good luck to his owner. The maneki-neko is sometimes also called the welcoming cat, lucky cat, money cat, happy cat, beckoning cat, or fortune cat.

I've liked these for a while, a friend of mine has one and I've often thought of getting one. I saw Neko in tesco on the way home tonight and couldn't resist him - I really like how cheap and plastic he is!

I'm not sure Wesley likes him yet, but I'm sure he'll learn to love him - especially when he brings us all the luck. Not that we even believe in that sort of thing mind!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.