Coriolanus revisited

I think it was about a year ago that Claire and I went to see the film version of Coriolanus. We did not enjoy it. I didn't think it was a production that translated into modern day despite Ralph Fiennes' efforts.

I didn't think anything could ever convince me to ever see Coriolanus again. I was wrong.

Tom Hiddleston. He's the reason.

Tom is currently in the National Theatre production in London and it was shown live in cinemas across the country tonight. I honestly wasn't going to come, but my friend, Nanisa, is going in Aberdeen and she sent me a promotional clip of Tom preparing for the role. I bought a ticket straight away. It was sold out at the Cameo, so I found myself in a theatre in Musselburgh.

And the verdict? Well I can honestly say that was easily a hundred times better than the film. Tom was passionate and engaging and portrayed the character very well. And you know what, it does translate to modern day! I don't know what Fiennes was playing at!

The second half tonight was absolutely amazing. So incredibly captivating and emotional. I always find it strange when people clap in the cinema, but it was totally worth it. I appear to have been won over by Coriolanus. Who'd have thought it?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.