Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Local Produce

My apologies to all of you who are vegetarian. 

I like to know where my meat comes from and don't pretend that it's something that comes wrapped in plastic on a supermarket shelf. That's partially the reason I keep my own sheep and I do my utmost to support local farmers.  

A young friend who lives nearby, in Gomshall, rents land and a wonderful old barn from the National Trust. He started with a very small flock a couple of years ago and now has herds of 60 cattle and 120 sheep.  All are fed on pasture, well cared for, and you really can taste the difference.  

I, obviously, won't be buying his lamb but, have a large steak from his Dexters in my tum now.  Delicious!  

These are some of his flock that have been brought in for routine checks and medication. They'll be back out in the fields tomorrow.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.