madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Bricks and Mortar, Nature and Facets

After yesterdays absorption in nature it was a great contrast to have buildings to play with today! As I am not the one getting treatment I really enjoy taking photographs of the place - possibly it distracts from the reason I am there. Best to take things day by day and not look too far ahead and too clearly at my friends situation - it's unknown and if I do dwell I tend to look at the best and worst outcome.
So architecture in the sun! I love the range of ages and styles and the inclusion of nature. The hospital is situated next to the moors so nature is within viewing distance but its good the way it features within the grounds and softens the place. 
After driving in to Plymouth sunday and again today, it makes me think  again on how ones environment forms and shapes you - develops your character. Conversely do we seek the environment in which we feel comfortable - after years in London I came south to this place! 
I often feel like my life, like anyones, has branching off points, choices were made that led me down one path and not another - but all those other possible paths and lives are there if I look - paths that lead into mist and supposition!  
When I think of myself now I imagine myself as a crystal with many facets - each experience, whether happy or tragic has made another one.  At any given point I may look out of one side and react as the child, the adolescent, the adult it represents. I may look into one side and see an event in my past. Sometimes more clearly given the time that has elapsed since it formed and the perspective I now have. Sometimes it is cloudy, my memory not as clear. I wonder how many more facets will develop, or whether they will all become cloudy as I age. I wouldn't forgo any of my facets and whilst I like these many sides of myself, I would not want to go back in time, even if I  could, and live any one of those times again. I am content with who I am now, intrigued as to what I may become in the future - more branches ahead and paths to take, more facets to be formed!
Regrets?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.