An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A Heart for Mum L...

Today would have been David's mum's 80th Birthday.   

This morning I tried to imagine what she would would have been like at 80, and the conclusion I reached is just exactly the same as the last time I saw her age 72 - full of life, full of love and full of mischief.

People tell me I got lucky getting David as a husband and I agree, just don't tell him, don't want his head to swell ;-)  but the cherry on the cake was getting Mum L as my mum-in-law.   A mum, a best friend, and a fellow lover-of-gin, what more could I have asked for?

Well if I had also asked for supportive, non-interfering, funny, wise, honest, fearless, and completely selfless, then I would have been in luck too.  She was all of these things and so, so much more.   I miss her every single day.

This sums up her attitude to life perfectly.

"Dance LIKE NOBODY’S WATCHING; 
love LIKE YOU’VE NEVER BEEN HURT.
Sing LIKE NOBODY’S LISTENING;
live LIKE IT’S HEAVEN ON EARTH."


Happy Birthday Mum L!  

Your boys send a tonne of love and we will raise a glass in your honour tonight, till we meet again and talk ourselves hoarse and have cramps in our sides from the laughter we'll share.   xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.