JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

My Fab Photo Day-Out

I've had all sorts of thoughts about what to post tonight as I had a photo-magical kind of day in the company of a genuine photography legend.
My day with Fabrizio Gianni was crammed with anecdotes and images from a stellar career, which began in movies and moved into fashion photography.
I'm writing about Fabrizio ahead of an exhibition of his work at the Park Gallery in Falkirk, which opens in May.
The exhibition will focus on his work for fashion mags such as Italian Elle, Italian and French Vogue, GQ, Harper's Bazaar and Figaro (to name but a few).
He's photographed celebs galore from Warren Beattie to Andy McDowell to Anthony Hopkins, Keanu Reeves and more. He styled Clint Eastwood in The Good, The Bad and the Ugly and a spaghetti western film he wrote and starred in (which he dismisses as awful) is a favourite of Quentin Tarantino.
I took a lot of iPhone snaps of the man himself over the course of our six-hour chat at his home in Falkirk. (Well, he is Italian and he's had a fantastically interesting career...)
In the end, I went for this black and white picture on his laptop. It shows Fabrizio as a thirtysomething assistant film director larking around with a young Gina Lollobrigida.
Bella, bella.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.