JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

The Need to Draw

I've been away for a few days in the Highlands with the family for half-term break.
While I was there (trying desperately not to log into social media of any sort), I picked up a copy of Highland Life magazine because artist and writer, John Byrne, was on the front cover.
There was a big fat juicy interview with Mr B inside so I took it back to the log cabin and read it with interest.
I have a lot of respect for him as an artist and as a writer. And he looks the business. How many septuagenarians rock a cravat with such style?
In the interview he got a a lot off his chest and proceeded to let rip about various things; including he fact he thinks kids going to art college expect to have it all handed to them on a plate without all the graft.
He also described his old art college, Glasgow School of Art, as a Fun Factory, adding, 'It's more like a third rate night school as far as competence in drawing goes.'
Well, such is the power of a social media stooshie, I ended up not being able to help myself looking at my Facebook page!
A good friend who was a red top journo for many years and is now painting full-time (also attending GSA on a part-time basis) was asking me to jump into the debate because the Daily Record had distilled JB's comments into one very negative story.
So I thought I'd post a picture of this short essay on The Need to Draw.
I wrote it for the Royal Scottish Society of Painters in Watercolour (RSW) exhibition catalogue. Its annual exhibition was on last month in Edinburgh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.