Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The Best Picnic Spot in the World

Wall to wall sunshine in the Kyles of Lochalsh! What a great day. Apart from the fact that I couldn't take photos of everything.

Saved the breakfast scone and croissant for morning tea at the Best Picnic Spot in the World. In my opinion. Looking over Loch Duich to the Five Sisters of Kintail. And I've never actually been able to sit there before in my tee shirt!

There was the usual Haggis Tour bus full of young people. I offered to take a photo for one person, as is my wont, and I got stuck with taking about 15 on different cameras as the whole group lined up. They gave me a round of applause at the end!

A couple had camped there the night before, which would be very special. And another couple were in a yellow Marlin with a V8 engine. Do I sound like I know what I'm talking about? I looked at the logo before showing my ignorance and telling him what a nice Morgan he had. He was so nice, and loved to talk about his car (which he built himself) while his wife happily sketched the mountains. They had brought the car up on a trailer from Wales, and were now touring right round the West Coast in it. Bliss! The dog was happy to sit and look at the view. And he moved it for me to take a photo. But the sun was directly ahead, which wasn't good for photos - hence the lack of detail in the mountains *Note to self: buy a lens hood*

Just a little bit further up the hill was another picnic spot, perhaps more perfect, as someone had already set the table.

We met them again later at the wee summer ferry over to Skye. Fantastic single lane roads, steep hills, amazing views. Back round via the bridge, a woodland walk, with various stops for ice cream and coffee. What a brilliant day. But I would recommend that you do it the other way - better views for the driver too - over the Skye Bridge, then back over the wee ferry, and afternoon tea at the Best Picnic Spot in the World. Next time.

Took an evening dander out to the village for potential sunset blips, but too cloudy. We had a drink at the other village pub. Loud muzak and a lovely warm evening necessitated sitting outside, but I heard a rumour that this pub too had bread and butter pudding!! It's like buses - you never see it for ages (years) and then there are two at once. Of course, I had to compare the two. This one was smaller, and came with cream. Not so good. Actually, I should have been asked what I'd like with it, but wasn't. So Pub Number 1 wins!

My diet today has been SO bad, I'll have to list it. Let this be a lesson to you all!

One poached egg and toast.
One bowl of cornflakes
One croissant
One scone
Two Magnum Classics
Three coffees
Two shortbreads
Two beers
One bag of crisps
One bread and butter pudding

I'll try harder tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.