SLPlearning

By SLPlearning

A New Statement of Ambition

Curiously I thought I knew what ambition meant until I started reading about it. 
 
Apparently an ambition is an eager, and sometimes an inordinate, desire for preferment, honour, superiority, power, or the attainment of something. To obtain object or goal that is immensely desired. It comes from the Middle English word “ambicioun,” meaning and excessive desire for power, money or wealth. I didn’t know that.
 
I’d always thought of ambition in a more positive light-a desire and determination to achieve success sounded about right to me. 
 
I began thinking maybe we should change our statement of ambition to make sure it doesn’t sound quite so threatening, although I quite like this one copied from one of our learners’ stories.
 
“Our ambition should be to rule ourselves, the true kingdom for each one of us; and true progress is to know more, and be more, and to do more.”
Oscar Wilde

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.