Simply Me

By Suze981

My world

Well it's Friday the 13th - so called the unluckiest day of the year!

I don't believe in superstitions, it's just another day. But I have to say, today isn't a particularly good day. Wesley is sick. Last night he took a bad turn - you already know he's been off his food and was out of sorts - well he also had a suspicious lump and then last night, developed excessive, uncontrolled drooling. This is definitely not normal.

I was up with him all night, worried. I took Wes to the vets today (pictured). It was not the most reassuring trip to the vets ever - he doesn't have an abscess, infection, or temperature. There is no explanation for the lump or the drooling, except that he has a very low pulse for a cat. The vet is baffled. Ruling out cat fighting, dental problems and foreign agents in the mouth, we're left basically with some sort of toxin he may have ingested outside, or a rare disease.

The vet gave him antibiotics for the lump, just in case, and sent me home to monitor him. If it's a toxin, he'll right himself soon - the drooling shouldn't last long. If he gets worse, or is no better after 24 hours, we have to go back for blood works.

I confess I'm worried, I'm watching him like a hawk. He's still drooling, but it *appears* to be slowing. I hope the wee chap is ok - he's my world.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.