Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Surprise Sunrise 6:52 AM

Check out last night's organic midnight snack.
 
I hadn't planned to get up before dawn but I forgot to reset the alarm on my phone.  That's the only thing the the flipper is good for now.  The sound (other than the alarm) quit on it, so last night I had to order an iPhone 6.  They are expediting delivery so it may be here later today. 

When I arise in the dark the first thing I do is look out the window at the sky to check for clouds.  That way I know if there is a potential colorful sunrise for which to watch.  No sign of any this morning around six o'clock.  So I made coffee and began writing in my journal.

I was completely thrown off guard when I saw out of the corner of my eye what I thought was orange through the glass.  Sure enough, a sunrise of great beauty had developed.  I picked up my camera and looked for my sandals.  None were handy so I went out barefoot knowing I would have to stay on the cement patio.

My neighbor Barb came out and I heard a "Good morning," which I said in return, but I stayed focused and kept snapping.  In retrospect, I was probably a little rude by doing so, but had I stopped to chat I would have missed the peak of the color.  I think she went in, probably after taking a picture or two herself.  I went directly in when I was done, too.  It was cold and windy and after all, I was barefoot and still in my pajamas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.