Statues at Stoke Mandeville Station

Having visited the chiropodist this morning & feeling like I was walking on air I called at Stoke Mandeville station. My intention was to blip a train at the platform but once there I noticed these concrete statues on an area of grass to the side of the station. I've been here lots of times but never noticed them. I tried to find info on them but all I can find out is that the chap is a former employee at the station. As for the lions I don't know perhaps he kept lions as a hobby !

Anyhow I couldn't decide which picture to blip & so you have them all. It was still dreary & dull when I took these but the sun is trying to come out as I write this.

Its not raining.

An old local saying is:   Stoke, where there are more crows than folk.

More info on Stoke Mandeville here:

http://www.stokemandevilleparishcouncil.org.uk/village-information/

I am such a silly Billy...the lion was the trade mark / logo of British Rail which existed eons ago.....see below

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_Rail

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.