Valerie1940

By Valerie1940

Not In My Back Yard !

Decided to take the new lens to somewhere where I would definitely see birds other than sparrows - So I went to the WWT centre at Welney. A couple of weeks ago they counted over 11,000 swans (Whoopers 7000, Bewicks 4000) overwintering on the reserve. As well as the swans there are thousands of smaller water birds so it was difficult to choose just one pic to blip. Eventually I settled for this handsome Mallard drake - beautiful colours on the head in the sunshine.
By the way, the new lens will be joined on Monday by a new body - I succumbed to temptation, persuaded myself that my Sony alpha 100 has done good service over at least 7 years (possibly almost 10?) so I have upgraded to the Sony alpha 77 II  !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.