The Fergusson Family

Today's the day ...................... for some family history

My Aunt Joan is going to be 90 years old in a couple of weeks and there's going to be a bit of a 'do' to celebrate it.  My cousin David, her son, asked me if I had any photographs of her that could be put up with others to make a little display.  So I had a look and found this one. 

That's my grandmother, Florence, on the left with the eldest daughter, Mary, standing next to her.  On her left (wearing something rather peculiar) is my Dad - John.  Then standing at the back is my grandfather, also John, holding Leslie in his arms.  And then finally, sitting on her mother's knee is my Aunt Joan.

I can only just about remember my grandfather and my Aunt Mary because they both died when I was still quite young.  I never met my Uncle Leslie - he went off to Australia to seek his fortune before I was born.  He was the black sheep of the family and once he had left, he lost touch with them all.

My Aunt Joan is the last surviving member.  They were a family of very modest means.  My father would have to leave school at the age of 14 to earn some much needed income.  But thank goodness, they managed this visit to the photographer - so that we have this precious memento to look back on .........................   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.