Over-diaried

I tried to be too clever with my diary today. I had to attend a meeting in Halifax with my Mum's doctors, nurses, etc along with my Dad and sister at 1pm. I then had to drive back over the Pennines to the dentist.  On my way, to save time, I called at the station to buy a train ticket for later.  First problem: the ticket office was closed and the ticket machine was fenced-off due to a project to improve the utterly useless shelter under which it sits.

After calling-in at home, I then encountered temporary road works - which were not there three hours earlier - on the way to the dentist and had to pull over to let several Police vehicles hurtle buy. And found that all the parking near the dentist was taken up with the vehicles collecting their little darlings from school for the <400 metre drive to their homes.

The dentist managed to do the necessary in 20 minutes so thence to the hairdresser, via one set of traffic lights/three changes/ten minutes. The hairdresser did her stuff in 25 minutes.  Unkind people might say that this was 24 more than was strictly necessary. Then a drive back home, through more traffic lights, more emergency vehicles dee daahing their way past, more temporary road works.  Left the car at home then walked to the railway station to catch a train to Manchester to have dinner with some former colleagues. My first bit of luck was my train was only 2 minutes late so I could enjoy the views up to the hills.

Dinner was great - Thai Jungle Curry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.