Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

The Parish Churches of Guernsey #16

We had an advanced bellringing practice at St Peter's Church this morning and since it was raining and I haven't had a lot of time to go out this afternoon today's blip is another in my series of Parish Churches. I may have blipped St Peter's (or St Pierre du Bois) before but haven't processed a photograph of any church with the Nik Collection before.

There are 10 bells hung for full circle ringing but probably the most interesting thing about the church is that its floor slopes nearly 5 feet from east to west. There are plenty more interesting facts about it here.

I used to live just down the valley from the back of this church in a tiny chapel that we converted. After conversion we put a mini ring of 6 bells into the roof space and these are still there today.

When I got back home around lunchtime I decided to go for a walk along a dirt track lane that I hadn't been along since I was about 7 years old. It was pouring with rain so I didn't take my camera because I thought that if there is anything interesting I can easily go back because it isn't far from home. I remembered where one end of the lane was because it was at what is known locally as The Track, which among other things used to be the premier football ground in the island. When I was a child Liberation Day was always celebrated on the closest Wednesday to 9 May and on that day the final of the inter island football match for the Muratti Vase took place. When the final was in Guernsey it was played at The Track and we used to go and watch and took this lane as a shortcut. So I started at The Track and walked down the lane, which seemed longer than I remembered it. Unfortunately, it was a different lane and came out a long way from where I expected. so my Fitbit buzzed with excitement long before I got home again. I will have to look again for the lane but I have  feeling it may have got swallowed up in the housing estate which was built in the late 60s and has since been demolished and rebuilt. I will let you know and blip it if it exists.

None of this has helped me find time for commenting but I will catch up eventually.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.