EmmaBattrick

By MamaOfBoys

A new hobby

Thinking ahead to our trip away the other day i thought about the boys having their own cameras to take along and get some snaps in.

Kanye loves to take photos and we have had a camera for him before a very cheap polaroid that's sort of made of plastic and is the kids version of a canon ixus, it has a screen on the back and uses an sd card. But that's pretty much it. Very simple.

That was a couple of years a go and he took photos so much it sort of wore it out pretty quickly. I found one the other day on trade me for $5 so i got it for Kanye to take to Aus with us

That then left me with Marley and wanting to get him a wee camera too. Only i couldn't find a cheap enough one that he could use, then i remembered that before i got my canon i had an olympus camedia c-5060. It was a great camera but now it sat in the  wardrobe. So i got it out and charged it thinking mar could use it. He did indeed and he loved it though he needs to work on keeping it steady but that'll come.

Then i started thinking how could i encourage photography with him how could i get him to explore this beautiful world and open his eyes to all that's out there and display all that he captures. I want him to be excited by it and keep it going as long as he's interested.

 Hes too young for a blip account or instagram so i set up a page on facebook under my account that lets him post photos and write about them. It gives him a  chance to show what he finds wonderful and helps him with his reading and writing as he explains them.

Right now its pretty simple but i want to encourage this with him and see where it leads, who knows perhaps by the end of the year he'll be writing short blogs about his pictures. I think its also great for him for when he's older like what i do here- sort of a time capsule so he can see what he got up to!

Here is his page! https://www.facebook.com/MarleysWorldPhotos

The rest of my day was really relaxing, my friend came to visit and bought me the biggest macaroon i have ever seen, it was delicious and i did my best to eat it all but toward the end my body said 'alright that's enough sugar thanks' it was very sweet but light and creamy. 

Kanye is back to school tomorrow, its been nearly 2 week she's been off so i can only imagine he'll be exhausted when he gets home. He was pretty tired today but loved having my friend over.

Our family friend popped by as well to talk about the guinea pigs as they too are going on holiday to her house, she originally gave us wookiee, she too has guineas and rabbits so they'll love running around on the grass.

My mum came back yesterday from Alexandra and brought me some yummy stone fruit.

As i sit now at 730 my house i so quiet, 2 of my 3 are asleep and i have the time to be doing things but i think i'll go have a nice cup of tea and enjoy the quietness instead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.