CROCUS TIME

This solitary crocus in our garden made my weekend. It’s been promising to bloom for some days now, and then suddenly over the weekend it burst forth.
I know that you might equally see crocus in flower in the autumn, but I really did not appreciate there were so many different species of crocus until I looked them up — according to Wilkipedia up to 90 varieties..
Snowdrops provide an early uplift indicating that spring is on the way, then daffodils and primroses add some welcome colour, but nothing in our garden is quite as vivid as this, the delicate goblet shaped flower with the delicate lining to the petals, is captivating the more you study it.
To be honest this was not my first choice as a Blipfoto for the day, and I went off into the country in search of a suitable image, but after taking a few sample pictures, I kept returning to and eventually couldn’t resist this image, taken early this morning.
In the wild, it is a native of woodland, and I suppose that is where it has found its place at home, just beneath an oak tree on fairly rough uncultivated ground.

Sadly, the bloom itself won’t last for long . . . yet this image will live on in my mind’s eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.