SueScape

By SueScape

Measuring the hour....

Bracklesham Bay in the sunshine. We decided if it was nice enough, I could have my tea outside without my immune system being potentially exposed to public bugs.. The wind was undoubtedly still on the cool side, but well worth the visit to Billy's on the Beach, as always. Short walk to get my legs back in working order and good progress for the day. Definitely moving forward now. Just have to get past Monday/Tuesday before I can go to the shops again.

This kind of scene always always remins me of Wallace Stevens great poem "The Idea of Order at Key West." I have no idea what some of it means, but I love the words and rhythms. This verse is one of my favourites, even though it's Harvey in the picture and not the "artificer of the world...."


It was her voice that made

The sky acutest at its vanishing.

She measured to the hour its solitude.

She was the single artificer of the world

In which she sang.  And when she sang, the sea,

Whatever self it had, became the self

That was her song, for she was the maker.  Then we,

As we beheld her striding there alone,

Knew that there never was a world for her

Except the one she sang and, singing, made.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.