Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Blanket

It's been a day in my life which makes me sad but happy at the same time. 

R. died this morning. No sorrow but gratitude that his end was swift. In his 88 years, he lead a full life, was an outstanding member of the local community and loved by all.  

I brought home this blanket, completed hours before his death. It was hand crocheted in less than ten days by W., who I assist, four nights a week. I'd expressed a wish that R. would benefit from a heavy blanket to make him feel secure and warm. Nobody could predict the speed in which his health deteriorated. 

R's wife, his sister and I, have discussed the blanket which, just didn't make it, and have decided that it will be auctioned tomorrow evening at the annual dinner for the shoot, of which he was a founding member.  The drinks will flow and the participants will be reminiscing of happy times together giving them a great incentive to bid on this blanket and support his charity.  

This is where my blip becomes difficult..  I have a blip friend who suffers from the same cruel condition but, the circumstances are very diverse.  

R, was 88 years old and has trialled drugs that have extended his life beyond expectation and will,in the future, give benefit to those that are diagnosed today. His death was not due to his condition. We knew that he was going into renal failure some weeks ago. 

I will be in the beautiful village of Bosham tomorrow with the photography group, and the auction will take place late in the evening, I've made the decision to not attend as I know my involvement in R's last days will prompt  questions that I'm not willing to answer but,  I'm sincerely wishing the blanket makes a mountain. 

ll give you the figures as soon as I know them.  :)

All proceeds will go to Myeloma UK

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.