Elusive butterflies

Another glorious summer day and I went to check out the butterflies again, in the wood I usually visit.

They were not very numerous and very hard to photograph.

Two peacocks divebombed me and then flatly refused to pose with their wings open. A brimstone teased and then shot up high into the blossom. I have a speckled wood in a blur...... and there was no sign of the orange tips I saw on Thursday.

But the first white butterfly I encountered, which flew close to check me out a few times, was the one I chose to blip.

A green underside. Is it a Green-veined white ?

Like Kath, I have a little butterfly book but it isn't always the answer. This one, which was most definitely white, looks closest to a photo I have of a brimstone, except that the brimstone's bits are white not dark brown.

You do need to look at it in large, though

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.