First spring day

It felt like a beautiful warm spring day today. Lots of sunshine and warm blue skies to enjoy.

The local tradition on such lovely days is to head up to Winstone's Ice Cream on the common. I had to sit in the B&Q car park for a while today waiting for Mr H as he needed to get a bucket and shovel for his new woodburner. Listening to music in the car as I waited I kept my fingers crossed the ice cream place would still be sunny and not too busy by the time I got up there. Half an hour before closing the queue was winding out of the door and long shadows of patient locals were cast on the ground. Someone ahead in the queue said they had been there for 20 minutes, I didn't think the wait was that bad, maybe 15 at a pinch but goes to show how popular it was.

I had a double cone, chocolate (delicious) and butterscotch chip (quite nice but I wish I had gone for the 'new' banana flavour or the honey and ginger which I think I enjoyed last year). On the way back some people were flying huge kites. One amazing one was like a large Chinese dragon frolicking in the sky. Sometimes I forget what a pretty and vibrant place this is to live when the sun comes out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.