2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

We may all need this......

..... if this weather continues.

I see all sort when I am measuring road races, and had I been in the car I would not have spotted the plaque above this sign.

EWS Stands for Emergency Water Supplies

This sign was put up in 1939 in preparatio for war. I the event of water supplies being destroyed due to air raids alternative provisions had to be made for dealing with fires caused by bombing.

Renovated by the Rotary Club of Blackburn and unveiled by The mayor of Blackburn with Darwen Borough, Councillor Karimeh Foster, on 30th April 2012.

This plaque is also tribute to those who during the war served in the Auxillary Fire Service and the various sections of the Civil Defence in Blackburn.


I don't know what the number 500 refers to. I asume it is 500 yards away (it wouldn't be metres in 1939.

Seeing the Mayor's name on the plaque reminded me of the day I was announcing medal ceremonies at the Lancashire Cross Country Championships a couple of years ago at Blackburn. I enthusiastically asked the assembled crowd to welcome The Mayor of Blackpool!
I got out of it by announcing the return of public floggings to the Town Hall steps and guess who was going to be first!

Hope you're not too surnburnt folks

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.