BrownBuddy1

By BrownBuddy1

Ormonde Hill

It's blowing a gale up here in the Highlands, and as we live on a hill it blowing a hurricane in my garden!

I opened the patio door to let Poppy out into the garden, the wind took the door, it blew open and broke the hinges so that it wouldn't close. I had visions of waking up in the morning with no door and no dogs.

I ran next door for help, they were out.
I ran the other side, they were out.
I ran over the road for help, he was out.
Don't panic I kept saying to myself, don't panic Mr. Mainwaring!
I phoned a good friend who has lived here all her life.

"You need John McArthur, the joiner, it's 5.30 he'll be home for his tea, now, give him a ring."

I gave him a ring, explained what had happened, "I'll be up in half an hour when I've finished my tea" he said.

 And he was. I could have hugged him, but I didn't. Just thanked him again and again and again. Such a helpful, cheerful, and efficient man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.