dwalletta

By dwalletta

Auntie Joan

Today I took my favourite auntie to visit her wee brother, my dad. Even if she wasn't my only auntie, she'd still be my favourite - she's intelligent and feisty and speaks her mind regardless. At nearly ninety, she's so far untouched by the dementia which has blighted the rest of her generation in my family, so I'm hoping I've inherited enough of her genes to keep me talking sense for a while yet. 

She took some old family photos to show dad, which was the perfect gift. Joan absolutely refuses to let anyone near her with a camera, so I've posted this old graduation photo of her instead, taken at a time when it was unusual for a young mother to pause, take stock, and go off to college. I hadn't seen the photo before now, but most of my family are there, including a budding princess wearing what looks like a Blue Peter badge.

I did manage to blip Joan once before, when she wasn't looking. It's still one of the shots I like best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.