Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

BIG tests

Archie and I were both sorely tested today...

After another quiet morning sitting outside drinking coffee (me) and standing quietly at the gate watching the school kids go by (Arch), we set off for a walk to Summerhall and back via the Meadows.

Archie was wearing his magic collar, but I realised when we got home that it had been switched off anyway. Luckily, he didn't realise this.

As luck would also have it, it was playtime at the local primary school. We walked slowly past the screeching small people. He did not flinch! Though I did - do they have to YELL quite so much? Well done, Archie. That was a BIG test.

My BIG test was standing at the counter in Summerhall, which was adorned with Danish pastries, flapjacks, huge scones etc. and I heard myself just ordering a cuppa. Well done, me.

Archie then had a second BIG test. As we were sitting there, a dad and a toddler came in. The toddler was put in a high chair and fed, accompanied by happy squeals. Again, Archie did not flinch! Well done, Archie.

My second BIG test was trying to get down low enough to take a shot of Archie in the crocuses. And then getting back up again. I had my wee old compact camera which does not have a flip out screen. If I had tipped over (and crushed several clumps of flowers) I would have had to lie there and call for help like a cast sheep. So well done, me.

Home for a reading session. ZZZzzz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.