Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Braidburn Valley Park

Another pleasant morning in the front garden while teenagers bustled noisily by, and not a peep from Master A. Brilliant. In fact, we sat on the bench for ages and watched them, so he doesn’t see them as a threat now.

We were out of the house by 9am, as it was a lovely morning, and I know tomorrow isn’t going to be. I looked at the map of Edinburgh to decide where to go. Somewhere new? Not that Archie cares for new scenery at all… I contemplated going right through the Braid Burn and follow it out to the bus at the other end - I did it a couple of years ago while bird watching, and it’s a long way. But then I saw the Braidburn Valley Park. I’d spotted it many times while driving by. That was the one for today!

And the bus stops right outside it! It was a terrific park. Concrete path, so no mud, following the Braid Burn with bridges over at various points and lots of old trees and new trees planted. And lots of benches to sit on. It was perfect. Plenty of friendly dogs and friendly dog owners. Archie had a whale of a time. So did I.

Except that some of the big dogs were in and out of the burn. I did NOT want Archie to get any silly ideas (after all, he jumped into the canal a while ago). Here he is, giving little helpless yelps while the big dogs enjoy the water.

He was on his best behaviour on the way home - lay down in the bus and just looked at the feet passing him, didn’t yelp loudly as we got off, didn’t pull on the lead, walked by prams and teenagers. I just feel that maybe he's got all sensible now that he’s a big One Year Old.

We’re both off to read/snooze now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.