Valerie1940

By Valerie1940

Well hidden

I have noticed that blackbirds do not come on feeders but just feed on the ground underneath. As the starlings are so greedy I put some fat balls in the buddleia bush to give the small birds a chance. I saw this product - peanut butter especially for birds - and thought it looked fun - you put the jar in the holder and leave it either hanging or standing. I hung it on the fence but no-one went near it until I moved it into the bush as well. I thought it was the small birds eating it until today when I spotted (just) mrs blackbird tucking in! Note that she is still not perching on the holder but on the branch - obviously their feet are not made for clinging onto small perches. I am hoping the blackbirds nest again despite the fact I had to remove the lilac where they nested last year - they have been in and out the ivy on the fence next to the buddleia and the clump of Sophie's hair I tucked in there after brushing her became much smaller within within two days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.