Friends old and new(ish)

Today was very much a day of two halves: shaved, suited and brogued up, this morning, for client meetings in West London, and then, this afternoon, I was up on the Southbank to meet friends.

Firstly, I met up with my Twitter friend, Elly, who was the person who got me back into writing a few years back. I think that was about four years ago but it was (clearly) prior to the start of the daily blog in 2012. We had a couple of drinks, today, while I nagged her to write another book. (I wrote about her first, 'Foucault's Daughter', here.)

Then it was a few hundred yards' walk to 'Le pain quotidien' to meet a much older friend. Much older. I don't know how old I was when I met David but certainly during the one year I did at secondary school in Hong Kong, he was my best friend. At the age of twelve he was a confident skateboarder -  something that I very much admired (I was rubbish) - and already a good singer: he played Oliver in the school play, that year.

Somehow, sometime in the last year or so, we became friends on Facebook. It's a funny phenomenon - at least, one that I observe - where sometimes I'll make friends with someone on Facebook - proactively or reciprocatively - but then won't really interact with them. So, I've seen David's posts and liked them, and then, a little while ago, we decided to meet up.

When I told people I was meeting David, today, after 36 years, they asked if I was nervous but I really wasn't. And, as I stood on the concourse outside LPQ and saw him walking towards me with a big grin, I simply found myself looking forward to catching up with him. And it was fun. His life, especially as a professional singer, has been hugely interesting and entertaining, and I loved all his stories. I can't wait to see him again.

So, much as prefer to look forwards in life, it made me realise that, actually, good friendships are something that you should never leave behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.