A bullfinch

I felt rather exhausted today and was pleased when my two meetings finished by mid afternoon.  When I reached home I couldn't resist a short spell in the garden with a cup of tea, a seat on the patio in the weak sunshine and a camera round my neck awaiting any birds that might be tempted to risk flying near me.  I didn't try to hide and knew many birds would keep away, but was pleased to see the few who came close.

A jay flew down the neighbour's garden into the sycamore at the end of our garden but I couldn't get a clear shot before it lazily flew away down the valley.  A nuthatch stayed longer than usual, and the various tits were as flighty as ever.  A female blackcap nearly got blipped, as did a female blackbird and one of the robins who posed on the upturned wheel barrow.

Various bullfinches flew into the rhus tree but one dared to go the the feeders which I had replenished to tempt them.  Instead they flew up high into this tree near the house.  I look out at these branches from a higher vantage point when sipping tea in bed, so my upward looking viewpoint seemed strange.  The bullfinches are very partial to eating these furry buds that are just beginning to appear, but I don't think they at]re quite palatable yet.  I love the colour of the male bullfinches and was glad that I could film it against the blue sky today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.