Taking a break

Pete in the porch of St Peter and St Paul Church in Northleach.

So, we have had a splendid first full day in the Cotswolds.    We have walked about 9 miles.  Considering we did not sleep well last night I am rather pleased that we had the energy.      

The cottage we are staying in is very comfy and cosy, however, the heating system when it cools down over night is rather musical to put it nicely.     We were both awoken at 2am to what sounded like someone playing a glockenspiel at the foot of the bed.     So tonight we are switching the blasted system off early and instead will luxuriate in the warmth of the perfectly effective wood burning stove.

A 4 mile walk round Northleach and Hampnett,   a 3.5 walk mile round Sherborne, stopping to look round Lodge Park NT property, followed by a 1.5 mile walk in the Chedworth area.

A delightful day, although I have sustained 2 injuries; 
1.  cracking my head on the low beam door frame of the cottage - a Tom and Jerry style bump on my head.
2.  Attempting to exit the car without taking off my seatbelt I had one leg out of the door when it slammed shut on my shin.    
Both events caused me to use some extremely unladylike language.
Both events caused Pete much amusement.

Now I'm going to have a drink.   Cheers my dears!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.