Tulips

Some of the lovely flowers I have received since coming home.

I've just realised that I haven't actually explained what went wrong with me last week. It must be the medication. And before I forget, thank you for worrying about me you lovely blippers out there. You are all so kind and supportive.

So, in as short an explanation as possible (the long story is etched into my memory for ever)

To cut a long and gory story short my left kidney shut down on Thursday due to a stone (I didn't know I had) that was blocking the drainage valve. I had to have surgery to prevent permanent kidney damage. I now have a temporary stent that links my kidney to my bladder - not comfortable believe me, but preferable to the agonising pain I was in. As a result I have terrible water retention so I am very swollen and a little disabled. Slowly I'm getting back to my normal size and I am able to find some humour in my giant tree trunk legs - my "sea legs", as Pete is calling them! Joking aside it does feel like I have a pair of giant water balloons in place of my legs.

It has been one of the most traumatic experiences of my life as apart from what was happening with my body there were some serious issues with the nursing staff who were on duty over the weekend.... I can say no more on that here, however, that has been dealt with. I have to go back in at some point soon to have the stent removed and some laser treatment... not looking forward to it. Nor am I particularly thrilled to learn that my right kidney is harbouring an even bigger stone, but because it is not causing a problem I have to let it sit there.

Anyhow, I have back blipped a load of pics from the last week should you wish to look.

I might continue to not be very good at commenting for a few more days. Although I am hoping to be feeling chipper enough to go back to work on Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.