stellarossa

By stellarossa

Dreaming Spires Day

Today I was up at Merton to run a session on the protection of civilians with US students on a 'spring school'. It doesn't get much better than Merton in the sunshine. The session went well and I had coffee with some of the faculty afterwards.

I always forget that there are cobbles outside Merton and fail to get off my bike in time (uncomfortable!). It's also hard to find somewhere to lock a bike. I opted for the railings outside a house opposite just as the Professor returned from what I imagined was a long lunch at the Vaults pondering philosophical issues. He gave me a curt 'good afternoon' as I locked my bike to his railings and peeked in the window.  Wouldn't it be lovely to spend my days thinking and writing in a room in a lovely little house on a cobbled road opposite one of the greatest seats of learning, beneath those dreaming spires….. dream on, stellarossa, it's back to our Mothership on the business park tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.