Mecklenburg Square

With an hour to kill between the end of a meeting and the train back to Edinburgh, I walked southwards from the office with a broad sweep round to the east to the far end of King's Cross Road.   It was a lovely spring day.   Through St George's Gardens, and right down into Mecklenburg Street.   Never been into that specific area and as I was walking along I knew that the name of the Square rang a bell.

Harriet Vane sat at her writing table, and stared out into Mecklenburg Square.....      Dorothy L Sayers Lord Peter Wimsey Novel - Gaudy Night  the opening words.  

Gaudy Night is - I think - one of the best detective novels ever written, and not one single person ends up murdered!

I was glad that pulled that Mecklenburg reference out of the recesses of memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.