Helping Mummy in the Kitchen

I like helping my mummy in the kitchen. She was making a tandoori paste tonight. She toasted some cumin seeds and some coriander seeds in a pan and then put them in the pestle and mortar. Then I did the grinding into a powder! We looked at how the seeds were different shapes, and we noticed how they smelt different to each other and how the smell got stronger when they were toasted. Then we put them in a little bowl with some other spices (garam masala, tumeric, ginger, smoked paprika), tomato puree, oil and garlic. Then I helped mummy mix some of the paste with creme fraiche which she used to cover the bit of salmon she was having for her dinner. As a reward, I got a bowl of yummy Cumbrian strawberries that mummy picked up from Tebay on her way home from Blackburn today!

Here's a video.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.