The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Self-seeded

...in a planter from a previous year's crop. Spot the surprise visitor.

The sun did come out this afternoon for a bit, and I even pegged the washing out, and lay in my hammock with my t-shirt, thermal vest, jeans and two pairs of socks and the cat on. When the sun wasn't shining, the sky was decidenly leaden. I was waiting in (foolishly) for my cousin and her family, and they turned up around five or six. I'd baked a Nigella apple and almond cake which turned out, frankly, not as Nigella or I had hoped for, but they were stuffed, having been to a party, and knackered, having beeen to Devon and back as well as the party. Only their little girl was not a zombie, and wanted to play with my Kindle, to look for book samples from Enid Blyton and Michael Morpurgo. Something old, something new...

I roasted halloumi and bits and bobs for supper, and went to write some childrens' 'reports'. I had ordered one of those fashionable adults' colouring books and some fibre tip pens, and they came today but I haven't begun to look at it. I started a new jigsaw, too, but my visitors arrived at that moment!
However, I did finally manage to finish my audiobook (The Donor by Helen Fitzgerald) some months after starting it. The speaker dock for the iPod has stopped working. Too many power surges in the kitchen (and no, I don't mean hot flushes) have fried something in its small brain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.