Colours of life

Last day in India, and with a meeting two hours' drive away, I decided I'd try to catch some shots out of the car window.

I soon remembered what I hate about my travel-friendly compact. It does NOT handle well for grab shooting, and it's an order of magnitude worse when trying to shoot from a moving vehicle. (Whether or not said vehicle is hurtling at speed towards a large brightly-painted truck...or a narrow space between a motorbike and a concrete barrier...or an oncoming taxi on the wrong side of the motorway...trust me, I tested it under all these conditions!)

I managed to miss, among many other things, two camels, a skinny horse being shod, and any number of sacred cows (one lying placidly, chewing the cud, on the central reservation of the motorway).

Next time I come here, I am seriously thinking I'll lug my full SLR kit around with me.

My overwhelming impression of India is of rich colours, so much vibrancy and life. This was one of the few half-decent shots I got, and I thought it was a good one to show how drab and dull the trappings of the modern world are compared to the traditional scenes you can catch all around.

And hey...can you imagine a better choice of name for an Indian stockbroker?! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.